Planning Commission

Planning Commission Vacancy

The City is accepting applications for one Planning Commissioner to represent District 5 for the remainder of a term to end June 30, 2025. Applicants must reside in District 5 and be willing to attend the Planning Commission’s regular meeting on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Palmdale City Council Chamber. The deadline to apply has been extended to Thursday, December 7, 2023, at 6:00 p.m.

2023 Classified Position

Duties and Responsibilities

District Map

Online Application

Fillable Application (PDF)


The Planning Commission approves or makes recommendations on land development proposals and environmental findings; ensures the Capital Improvement Program is consistent with the General Plan; makes recommendations on maintaining land use regulations through zoning ordinance amendments, zone changes, and General Plan amendments; and makes recommendations to the City Council on land use and environmental policies and programs.


Meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. at the Council Chamber, 38300 Sierra Highway, Suite B.

Agendas & Minutes

The agenda and related items are posted on the Thursday afternoon prior to the regular Planning Commission meeting. They are also available in the Development Services, Administration, Parks and Recreation, and City Library.

Public Attendance at Meetings

The City Council is making every effort to follow the spirit and intent of the Brown Act and other applicable laws regulating the conduct of public meetings in order to maximize transparency and public access. In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, if you require a disability-related modification or accommodation to participate in this meeting, please call the City Clerk’s Office at (661) 267-5151 at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.


Commission MembersPositionDistrictEmail
Term Expires
Dean HendersonChair
District 2Email Dean HendersonJune 2025
Getro F. Elize
Vice Chair
District 4
Email Getro F. Elize
June 2024
Mateo OlivarezCommissionerDistrict 3Email Mateo OlivarezJune 2024
David LujanCommissionerDistrict 1Email David LujanJune 2024

Christian MartinezCommissioner
District 5
Email Christian Martinez
June 2025

Commission Facts

  • The Planning Commission is made up of five members
  • Four are appointed from districts and one is appointed at large
  • Planning commissioners serve a two-year term and receive $100 compensation per meeting attended.